Monday Motivation and my Simple Mills Muffins Review

Happy Monday! How was everyone’s weekend? Mine was great! Lots and lots of family time which is my favorite. I just love my little family! Saturday we made a big ole breakfast, took Harper to the park (for about 30 minutes because its so fricken hot down here) did some stuff around the house, and my mom and I took Harper out for a little bit and shopped. Sunday we went to toddler time at Bounce (an indoor trampoline park) and she had a BALL (Stephen and I secretly take her because we love it too.) and then we just hung around the house, blowing bubbles on the patio and watching movies!
IMG_6442

I try not to workout during the weekends.. I work in a gym and workout once or twice every day Monday through Friday so I try and soak up every bit of my family during the weekends when we are all together. That doesn’t mean that all of my goals and hard work during the week gets thrown away on the weekends though. So many people think that “rest day(s)” are unnecessary. They are SOO necessary you guys. With that being said, if I took a day off during the week- I do usually try and get some sort of sweat session in on the weekends, but usually something light after Harps goes to bed.

Your body needs time to recover, and also to grow! You can’t continuously break down your muscles and not give it time to build back up– so take your rest days when you need them!!

While I was resting up this weekend, I decided to try out these Simple Mills pumpkin muffins (fall will be here before ya know it.. so bring on the pumpkin amirite??!) Now that I’m officially done with my whole30 i’m always looking for new brands/foods that I can incorporate into my “food freedom” but that also doesn’t upset my stomach. Simple Mills products are naturally gluten free and paleo-friendly.

IMG_6399

These muffins are made with: almond flour, organic coconut sugar, pumpkin, arrowroot, organic coconut flour, and spices, baking soda and sea salt. (Then you add 3 eggs, coconut oil and water)

So I was pretty pumped about the fact that I could eat a muffin that wouldn’t give me an instant “i-wanna-die-migraine” or make me keel over from the dairy.

IMG_6406

They were SUPER easy to make.. I’m talking like they only took 5 minutes to whip up in my kitchen aid mixer, and only 25 minutes to bake. So within 30 minutes I had a delicious warm muffin, and my kitchen smelled like fall… thats what we call a WIN WIN.

They’re super flavorful, dense, and DELICIOUS. Bravo Simple Mills.. bravo. If you guys are looking for a gluten/dairy free muffin option I HIGHLY recommend them. Stephen and Harper approve too! I’ve got a box of the banana bread in my cabinet that I can’t wait to make.. and I want to try out their other products as well!! I found mine at my local Whole Foods.

If you guys try them out let me know how you like them/what flavor you got!! Or if you have any brands like this that you suggest please let me know!!

 

Leave a Reply

