Why I don’t think I REALLY failed on my Whole30.

Well hello there! I thought I’d switch things up and post on Tuesday. Tuesday gets no love… everyone’s all motivational on Mondays, crushin’ women on Wednesdays, throwing back memories on Thursdays, and TGIF’ing on Fridays.. so don’t worry Tuesday. I’m here for ya..

How was everyone’s weekend?! Mine was good, had my high school reunion, and out of a graduating class of like 500 people.. there were 15 people there!! Disappointing turn out but regardless it was fun to see/chat with people I haven’t seen in quite some time, and it’s always fun to be able to go out with my husband sans-kiddo.

So I what I really came here to do today, was to tell you guys that I failed. Yep. I did. I had a couple small (square) pieces of gluten-free pizza on Sunday night. If you weren’t aware, I’m doing the Whole30 (you can read about my experience so far: here) and if you know the rules of the Whole30… gluten free pizza (or any pizza for that matter) is not allowed. I won’t go too much into detail about the surrounding circumstances, but basically what it came down to was me breaking down mentally, and really poor planning. I’ve said it before, but I didn’t “slip”.. I made a conscious choice to eat it… and I immediately regretted it… not only for the fact that I didn’t 100% stick to the 30 days– but I physically reacted SO badly to the foods that I hadn’t had in 12 days that it’s almost insane. My stomach ballooned and cramped up so bad, I got an immediate headache and I fell asleep on my couch at 7:30.

To be 100% transparent, I almost didn’t share this with you guys.. I totally considered not posting about my “failure” and just continuing on with posts about how great its going. The thing is though? That isn’t real, and it isn’t honest… and if I can take how much I learned from my failure- and show you guys that everyone fails, and help you all learn from it too then it was worth it.. (it’s all about your perspective, right?) My extreme physical reaction was enough to make me not even consider “failing” again for the rest of the 18 days (my husband agreed.)

Thats right… 18 days. Whole30 definitely promotes starting over.. going back to day 1. But I’m not going to do that. I picked myself up..ate all compliant foods the next day, worked out, and am back to feeling great again. I am using my failure as a learning tool, and not letting it define me or break me down. Trust me– after the way I felt, there’s no WAY I’d want to mess up again!

So that’s where I’m at… Today is day 14, and so later this week I’ll do a recap about some brands that I’ve loved, recipes that have become staples, and overall body image. I hope you guys have a great rest of your day!!!

Leave a Reply

