Whole30.

whole30-newsletter-logo

Happy Friday everyone! I had a super short week because of vacation and the 4th of July so I cant complain about my work week… hopefully yours was short and sweet as well! I mentioned in my last post that I started the Whole30. So I want to chat with you guys about what it is, and why I’m doing it. Lets get a little personal today shall we? Guys: if you don’t like acknowledging that us gals get our “time of the month” then you may not want to read on.

Still here?? Last chance to leave…

K cool.. here we go.

SO.. before I had Harper (19 months ago) I was always normal. I’d say plus or minus 3 days I would always get my period (sorry guys.. you had your shot to leave.) Well I got my first post-partum period when she was 7 months old (this was normal since I was BF’ing) After that though, I would skip a month.. then skip 2 months.. then another. It just wasn’t right. I kept thinking that my body just needed time to regulate, but then I started feeling weird. I’d get dizzy spells… I was CONSTANTLY tired, I was drinking 2-4 large cups of caffeine a day and was still drowsy. Finally, last month I had some blood work done per my doctors request. Unfortunately though, the blood work came back inconclusive– my doctor said I was a “medical mystery” because it all came back normal. They did an ultrasound to check for cysts to rule out PCOS- which came back normal. It just didn’t make any sense to me.. I don’t drink, I don’t smoke, I exercise every day, and eat healthy the majority of the time. My doctor then told me that if nothing changed, and I wanted to have another baby that I’d have to go on medication to help. If you know me well enough then you already know I HATE medication.

With no diagnosis to explain how I was feeling/what was going on with my body I felt really confused and wasn’t really sure where to turn. I started to really look at what I was eating/drinking.. and I mean REALLY looking. Sometimes its hard to take a cold hard look at what you’re doing that could be affecting you. Its easy to blame others, but it’s hard to take the blame.. and I think that I needed to take some personal responsibility. Now, I’m not saying that I eat terribly- because I don’t. But I’d say over the course of the last couple months, I started eating a lot more processed carbs every day than I should have, and my caffeine consumption was through the roof.  I also was using a lot of artificial sweeteners (I have the giant box of Truvia from Costco) and now that I’ve looked back on it I was using about 8-10 packets a day!!! I had drifted away from eating whole, natural foods and was eating more processed protein foods like Halo Top ice cream (duh, because its delicious) and protein bars, and whey protein shakes. My body just seemed to be fighting itself… my weight stayed the same but I started noticing my body composition almost seemed swollen.. my knees and other joints started aching.. and I’m only 27 years old. what the heck!?

I had heard of Whole 30 before but never really knew what it entailed or why people did it… but I figured that if I wanted my body to sort itself out, I needed to totally reset my eating habits, and what types of foods I was fueling my body with. So my decision to do the Whole 30 has nothing to do with weight loss, but everything to do with my general health. The first thing I read on their website was this:

“Are your energy levels inconsistent or non-existent? Do you have aches and pains that can’t be explained by over-use or injury? Are you having a hard time losing weight no matter how hard you try? Do you have some sort of condition (like skin issues, digestive ailments, seasonal allergies or fertility issues) that medication hasn’t helped? These symptoms may be directly related to the foods you eat—even the “healthy” stuff.”

Check.. check.. and check. After reading almost everything on their website I was 100% in. So I did my research, I purchased a meal planning service from Real Plans (more on that in my next post.)and I went grocery shopping. I started on July 5th and I’m not turning back until my 30 days are up. My plan is to post a weekly update about how my Whole30 is going, with some recipes.. where I’m struggling, where I’m succeeding etc. If you guys have any questions about it along the way please feel free to ask! Not that i’m an expert, since this is my first one… but I’m always open to share my own experiences!

Leave a Reply

