WHY.

Its Monday… I woke up and the friggin’ Patriots won, the LAST thing I wanted to do was go to work after such a fun weekend with my fam, I spilled hot tea on myself and got a terrible migraine. Mondays are the pits… could always be worse though, right? Right..

ANYWAYS… Someone asked me the other day how I always stay so motivated to workout/eat right etc. Short answer? I don’t. I have days/weeks where I only make it to the gym once if at all, where I eat more treats than green things, and where my motivation is lacking. I was listening to a fitness professionals instagram story the other day (@biolayne.. if you want some serious knowledge and some serious tough love.. follow him) and he was talking about your “why.” What is it that keeps you DEDICATED to your goals when your motivation is lacking? I had never really thought about it before.

Having played volleyball my whole life and throughout my 4 years of college, working out was always a requirement. 3-4 hours of practice and an hour of weights/conditioning almost every single day. It was just part of our schedule. After volleyball ended I continued working out almost every day mostly out of habit.. and as time went on I was able to view workouts less as a requirement and more of a privilege. So, 6 years later (ugh, i’m old) what is my why? Here it is: I workout for ME. Because it makes ME feel good. Because it’s time that I have to MYSELF. Because when the weights get heavy, I get stronger. Because when finishing hard workouts makes me proud of MYSELF. Because I know I’m setting a good example for my daughter. That’s what keeps me going when I don’t feel like it, or when I’m tired.

I encourage you to sit down and think about your why. If you’re struggling with motivation/dedication.. take a minute and think about why you started in the first place. WHO/WHAT are you doing this for? Your reasons may be completely different than mine and thats ok! There are no wrong “whys.” Even if yours is just to look good in a bathing suit, but I will say, you should make sure your why is strong enough to keep you going on hard days, or days when you’re too tired.

46310_1344492303184_1557568231_731508_1305220_nimg_2393img_0103

Leave a Reply

