Do you.

fullsizerender-1

I’ve been thinking a lot about this lately… in a social media driven world, it’s super easy to start idolizing others, and try to take on what they “do.” What I mean by this, is that there is always a fitness trend..the “in” workout, or the “in” diet.. and I’m sure it differs based on who you follow on your social media platforms. Whether that’s eating paleo, counting your macros, doing shakeology… training for a half marathon, lifting heavy weights, or doing hiit training.

For me– I think that whatever you’re doing.. if you are taking steps towards bettering yourself, then that’s awesome!  HOWEVER! Don’t get so caught up in what your doing IF YOU ARENT ENJOYING IT!!! If you don’t like running.. but are pushing yourselves through long runs because your favorite blogger is a runner, or if you are lifting weights, but you have to force yourself to go every day- but “ohmygosh this girl on instagram lifts weights and she looks great so that’s what I have to do too” just STOPPP. The same goes for diet/nutrition. If you try out paleo for a while but feel too restricted.. then don’t continue pushing yourself through it “just because.” If you can’t stand logging your food every single day- then maybe counting your macros isn’t for you! Find what it is that works for you, that you can keep up with day-in and day-out to achieve your goals, and heres the best part!! Ready?? You don’t have to do the same thing forever!!! It’s a crazy concept, I know.. but you aren’t chained to counting your macros, you don’t always have to run or lift or whatever it is that you’re doing. Think of your body/workouts/nutrition as an experiment. Start paying attention to how you are feeling physically and mentally and alter things based on that! If you’re body has stopped responding to running, or your just feeling burnt out- change it up! If you just CANT log one more thing into myfitnesspal, change it up! Find something else, and see how your body responds to that for a couple weeks… and you can ALWAYS go back to what you were doing previously.

I’ve done it all. I’ve tried out paleo, I’ve counted macros, I’ve ran half marathons, I’ve lifted weights and all the in between. I’ve enjoyed some things, and some others not so much. But I always enjoy trying out new things to see how my body responds (or doesn’t) and switching it up after a while. I get bored easily and the last thing I want for myself is to have workouts feel like a chore. There are sooo many things that you cant control in your life.. but what you put in your mouth, and how you move your body is something that you CAN control. So make good food choices, workout often and enjoy the journey!

 

Leave a Reply

