Instant Gratification.

Lets talk about instant gratification (duh… check the title.) I am, and always have been, someone who loves instant gratification. Hard workout at the gym?– Im totally checking to see if there’s any immediate changes in definition. Sign up for a certification?– Im already wishing I could take the exam and start right away. I already know this about myself, and haven’t really given it much thought until just the other night..

Enter awkward transition to teeth whitener….

img_6735

I had noticed the other day that my love for several cups of coffee a day  (#momlife) has made my pearly whites not so white. I had seen on pinterest weeks ago about a natural teeth whitener using coconut oil and turmeric. I thought maybe it was a practical joke because turmeric stains anything and everything and has no mercy with its bright YELLOW color.. I could see it now– scrubbing it all over my teeth and it staining them bright yellow for weeks. But I was desperate and had both ingredients in my pantry so I figured I’d give it a try, especially since it said the results were… you guessed it… INSTANT! So I mixed up the little concoction, scrubbed it on.. let it sit and prayed I wasn’t the butt of a joke. Well…… LET ME JUST TELLL YOU.. it was friggin’ amazing!!!!! Immediately whiter (and luckily, the turmeric ONLY stained the old t-shirt I was wearing and not my teeth.) I highly recommend you all try this if your teeth need a little brightening!

img_6734

I just mixed 1 tablespoon coconut oil, and 1/2 tablespoon turmeric, but I don’t think theres really a wrong recipe as long as the texture is enough to scrub on your teeth. It made a lot so I put it in a little Tupperware container and had enough for the week.

Now, back to instant gratification.. (I promise as I continue blogging my transitions will HOPEFULLY improve…) I found this quote online that made me realize that I need to enjoy the journey a little more instead of just seeking the end result right away.

“What you want, and what you need aren’t always the same. Be willing to delay short term gratification, for long term greatness

So, I challenge you to sit down and think about places in your life where you can enjoy the journey a little bit more, whether that’s motherhood, work, fitness etc….

**don’t forget to let me know how the teeth whitener works for you!!**

 

Leave a Reply

